Seven States and DC Have NCLB Waivers Renewed

POLITICO Pro recently reported that the Education Department has granted three-year waiver renewals through the 2017-18 school year to Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Missouri, Nevada, West Virginia and D.C., extending their reprieve from parts of No Child Left Behind into the next presidential administration.

New York received a four-year renewal through the 2018-19 school year. Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Carolina and Virginia were also granted four-year renewals in March.

The flexibility comes as an effort to reauthorize No Child Left Behind is stalled in Congress. With the Senate now focused on trade legislation, 10 education groups today urged senators to give the bill floor time before the August recess.

Education Secretary Arne Duncan stressed that a strong reauthorization of ESEA “remains our first priority” and if Congress reauthorizes ESEA, federal officials will work with states to help them transition to the new law.

Several more waiver renewals are expected in the upcoming weeks.

Nevada received praise from the Education Department for establishing an Achievement School District within the Nevada Department of Education and Hawaii for engaging in a variety of activities to implement the Common Core.