2018 AFSA Fifteenth Triennial Constitutional Convention


AFSA members from across the nation came together at the National Harbor, minutes away from Washington, D.C. for the AFSA 15th Triennial Constitutional Convention. Attendees experienced three days of interactive workshops, informative panels and engaging speakers. Convention attendees also enjoyed local entertainment, a private opening reception at the National Museum of African American History and Culture, and a tribute ceremony honoring former AFSA president Diann Woodard.

We hope you found the convention to be a valuable and informative experience. As school leaders, you have the power to change the future of education and incorporate what you’ve learned into your community. Thank you to everyone who attended and helped make this year’s convention possible!

Workshop Highlights:

Pre-Convention Panel Addresses Social Justice Role In Improving Learning Environments

Educational Strategies Panel Addresses Complex Challenges Facing Public Education

PAC Workshop Addresses Building Legislative and Political Programs

Labor Panel Suggests Janus Decision Poses Challenge Of Communicating More Effectively With Members

Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) Delivers Electrifying Speech on Power of Unity

Danny Glover Heads Panel Addressing Need For School Leader Activism to Save Public Education

Resolutions Passed:

#1 Grow Your Own Administrators Programs and Our Profession

#2 Develop a Public Charter School Administrative Recruitment Program

#3 Opposing Privatization of Puerto Rico’s Public Schools

#4 Retired Administrators Chapter for Each Local

#5 School Leader Specific Professional Development

#6 Support for Grieving Students

#7 Encouraging Union Members to Run for Local Public Office

#9 Engaging Members for Political Action

#8 Continuing National Administrative Partnerships for Educational Action

#10 Empowering Greater School Safety

#11 Empowering Membership Engagement

#12 I AM 2018

#13 Support for High Quality Public Education

#14 Committing to Retirement Security for All

#15 Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals and DREAMers

#16 March for Our Lives


2018 Newly Elected General Executive Board:


Ernest Logan, President

Len Pugliese, Executive Vice President

Lauran Cherry, Secretary/Treasurer

General Vice Presidents:

Crystal Boling-Barton, James Dierke, Cynthia Warren, Sandra Inga, Carver Farrow, Wendi Caporicci, Mark Cannizzaro, Dominic Sacchetti, Dwayne Jones, Gary Maynard, Jimmy Gittings, Jane Wermuth, Luis Orengo


Video Greetings:

Day 1



Day 2



Day 3




Thank You!