AFSA Members Attend Committee For Education Funding Gala

Tuesday night President Diann Woodard and AFSA members from the DC metro area attended the Committee for Education Funding’s annual Gala, honoring  those in leadership positions that have displayed a strong commitment to public education. This year’s honorees included:

Senator Olympia Snowe (ME)

Senator Richard J Durbin (IL), Assistant Majority Leader

Representative Chris Van Hollen (MD-8)

Representative Todd Platts (PA-19)

Leticia Mederos, former Chief of Staff of Rep. DeLauro

There to provide welcoming remarks was Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan who emphasized that we must come together as a country and “not view education as an expense, but as an important investment.”

“Secretary Duncan also discussed the Obama administration’s goal to once again make the United States the leader in college graduation rates and to increase opportunities for all students. “If we want to close the achievement gap, we have to close the opportunity gap.”

Secretary Duncan’s message reaffirms AFSA’s commitment to support the re-election of President Obama in order to ensure that all children will have an opportunity to flourish in America,” said Woodard.

Aona Jefferson, president of AFSA Local 4 seconded Woodard’s enthusiasm. “I’m hopeful that President Obama will be re-elected. When that happens, I’m sure they’ll make greater strides in education. Our country really needs to place the focus back on public education.”